Hechavarria tops list of Toronto's Webster Awards

Hechavarria tops list of Toronto's Webster Awards

TORONTO -- The Blue Jays on Thursday announced their R. Howard Webster Awards, which are given to the Most Valuable Players of the club's Minor League affiliates.

Shortstop Adeiny Hechavarria was the MVP of the Las Vegas 51s (Triple-A) after posting a career-high .312 batting average and earning his second selection to the Pacific Coast League All-Star Game.

Fellow shortstop Ryan Goins was the MVP of the New Hampshire Fisher Cats (Double-A) after leading the Eastern League with 158 hits, including a team-high 33 doubles and .289 batting average. The 24-year-old was an Eastern League All-Star and was selected by the Blue Jays to play in the Arizona Fall League.

Rounding out the awards were right-hander Daniel Barnes of the Dunedin Blue Jays (Class A Advanced), lefty Justin Nicolino of the Lansing Lugnuts (Class A), righty Javier Avendano of the Vancouver Canadians (Class A short season), shortstop Christian Lopes, of the Bluefield Blue Jays (Advanced Rookie League), right-hander Alberto Tirado, of the Golf Coast Blue Jays (Rookie ball), and shortstop Rolando Segovia of the Dominican Summer League Blue Jays.

Nicolino became the 25th player in Blue Jays history to win two or more Webster Awards. He won his first with the Vancouver Canadians last season.

Other Webster winners on Toronto's current 40-man roster include Adam Lind (Auburn - 2004, Dunedin - 2005, New Hampshire - 2006), Brett Cecil (Auburn - 2007), Moises Sierra (Dunedin - 2009) and J.P. Arencibia (Las Vegas - 2010).