Second-base umpire Lance Barrett believed Suzuki's foot touched the bag before a tag was applied and made a safe call. That prompted Gibbons to run onto the field, and following a brief exchange, he decided to challenge the ruling.
After 2 minutes, 40 seconds, the umpiring crew decided the call would stand as called. That terminology means there was not enough video evidence to either confirm or overturn the call on the field. Suzuki was credited with his first stolen base of the season and the 473rd of his career.
This marked the second time Gibbons had made a challenge this season. He is 0-for-2 in challenges during the regular season and 0-for-5, dating back into Spring Training.
Gregor Chisholm is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, North of the Border, and follow him on Twitter @gregorMLB. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.