Silver bats highlight Jays' awards season

Silver bats highlight Jays' awards season

TORONTO -- Aaron Hill and Adam Lind shined in the batter's box this season for the Blue Jays, forming a dynamic duo that did not go unnoticed come awards season in 2009.

Hill and Lind -- the Blue Jays' second baseman and designated hitter, respectively -- both received Silver Slugger Awards on Nov. 12, honoring them as the top offensive performers at their respective positions in the American League. The pair became the first Toronto teammates to earn silver bats in the same season since Vernon Wells and Carlos Delgado accomplished the feat in 2003.

When the AL Most Valuable Player Award was revealed on Monday, Hill and Lind received some minor consideration, finishing 12th and 15th, respectively, in the balloting. The Jays have had just one MVP in team history: George Bell in 1987. This year, Toronto did not boast any serious contenders for any of the major Baseball Writers' Association of America awards.

Toronto's top candidate for a major honor was ace Roy Halladay, who captured the 2003 AL Cy Young Award. Halladay garnered 11 third-place votes for the '09 Cy Young Award, but he placed fifth in balloting, falling short in taking home the honor for the second time in his career. Beyond Halladay, previous Cy Young Award winners from Toronto include Roger Clemens (1997-98) and Pat Hentgen ('96).

Rookie Ricky Romero fashioned an impressive 13-win season in 2009, but some late struggles kept him from being seriously considered for the AL Rookie of the Year honor. Romero did not receive any votes for the award, which was handed to A's pitcher Andrew Bailey on Nov. 16. Eric Hinske (2002) and Alfredo Griffin (1979) are the only players to win Rookie of the Year in Toronto history.

Blue Jays manager Cito Gaston -- owner of the most managerial wins in franchise history -- will return for a final season at the helm in 2010 before retiring from the bench. In '08, Gaston received a pair of third-place votes in balloting for the AL Manager of the Year Award, despite the fact that he only guided the team for the final three months. Bobby Cox (1985) is the only manager to win the award in Toronto history.

Hill and Lind gave the Blue Jays 16 recipients of Silver Slugger Awards since the club's formation in 1977. Prior to this season, the last players to earn Silver Sluggers were Wells and Delgado in 2003. Hill played outstanding defense this season at second, as well, but fell short in his bid to become the eighth different player to earn a Rawlings Gold Glove Award in team history.

Hill, who missed most of the 2008 season due to a serious concussion, was also named the AL's Comeback Player of the Year in '09 in balloting by's 30 beat reporters. He will likely be in the running for even more honors before the end of the year.

The Toronto chapter of the BBWAA announced its annual award winners for the Jays on Dec. 1. Halladay was named the Pitcher of the Year for the fifth year in a row and the seventh time in eight seasons. Hill received the Player of the Year award and Lind was named the Most Improved Player for the second year in a row. Romero was a unanimous choice for Rookie of the Year.

The group also named Hill the recipient of the John Cerutti Award, which is given to "a person associated with the day-to-day workings of Blue Jays baseball who displays goodwill, cooperation and character, as exemplified by the late John Cerutti." The 2008 honor went to former team president and CEO Paul Godfrey.

National Awards
AL MVP Manager of Year Hank Aaron Award
George Bell 1987 Bobby Cox 1985 Carlos Delgado 2000
Roberto Alomar 1992 Pat Borders 1992 Alfredo Griffin 1979
Dave Stewart 1993 Paul Molitor 1993 Eric Hinske 2002
Cy Young Rawlings Gold Glove
Pat Hentgen 1996 Tony Fernandez 1986
Roger Clemens 1997 Jesse Barfield 1986
Roger Clemens 1998 Tony Fernandez 1987
Roy Halladay 2003 Jesse Barfield 1987
Tony Fernandez 1988
Tony Fernandez 1989
Kelly Gruber 1990
Devon White 1991
Roberto Alomar 1991
Devon White 1992
Roberto Alomar 1992
Devon White 1993
Roberto Alomar 1993
Devon White 1994
Roberto Alomar 1994
Devon White 1995
Roberto Alomar 1995
Shawn Green 1999
Vernon Wells 2004
Vernon Wells 2005
Orlando Hudson 2005
Vernon Wells 2006
Local Awards (Toronto Chapter of the BBWAA)
Player of the Year Pitcher of the Year Rookie of the Year
Bob Bailor1977Dave Lemanczyk1977Bob Bailor1977
Bob Bailor1978Jim Clancy & Victor Cruz1978Victor Cruz1978
Alfredo Griffin1979Tom Underwood1979Alfredo Griffin1979
Joe Mayberry1980Jim Clancy1980Damaso Garcia1980
Dave Stieb1981Dave Stieb1981None1981
Damaso Garcia1982Dave Stieb1982Jesse Barfield1982
Lloyd Moseby1983Dave Stieb1983Jim Acker1983
Dave Collins1984Doyle Alexander1984Tony Fernandez1984
Jesse Barfield1985Dennis Lamp1985None1985
Jesse Barfield1986Mark Eichorn1986Mark Eichorn1986
George Bell1987Jimmy Key1987Jeff Musselman1987
Fred McGriff1988Dave Stieb1988Pat Borders1988
George Bell1989Tom Henke1989Junior Feliz1989
Kelly Gruber1990Dave Stieb1990John Olerud1990
Roberto Alomar1991Duane Ward1991Juan Guzman1991
Roberto Alomar1992Jack Morris1992Jeff Kent1992
Paul Molitor1993Duane Ward1993Randy Knorr1993
Joe Carter1994Pat Hentgen1994Darren Hall1994
Roberto Alomar1995Al Leiter1995Shawn Green1995
Ed Sprague1996Pat Hentgen1996Paul Spoljaric1996
Carlos Delgado1997Roger Clemens1997Jose Cruz Jr.1997
Carlos Delgado1998Roger Clemens1998Kevin Brown1998
Shawn Green1999Billy Koch1999Billy Koch1999
Carlos Delgado2000David Wells2000None2000
Jose Cruz Jr.2001Paul Quantrill2001Bob File2001
Vernon Wells2002Roy Halladay2002Eric Hinske2002
Carlos Delgado2003Roy Halladay2003Aquilino Lopez2003
Carlos Delgado2004Ted Lilly2004Alex Rios2004
Vernon Wells2005Roy Halladay2005Russ Adams2005
Vernon Wells2006Roy Halladay2006Casey Janssen2006
Alex Rios2007Roy Halladay2007Jesse Litsch2007
Vernon Wells2008Roy Halladay2008Jesse Carlson2008
Aaron Hill2009Roy Halladay2009Ricky Romero2009
John Cerutti Good Guy Award Most Improved Player
Roy Hartsfield1977None1977
Mike Cannon1978Alan Ashby1978
John Silverman1979Rick Cerone1979
Howard Starkman1980Al Woods1980
Bob Mattick1981Joey McLaughlin1981
Buck Martinez1982Jim Clancy1982
Ernie Whitt1983Lloyd Moseby1983
Dave Collins1984Dave Collins1984
Rance Mulliniks1985Dennis Lamp1985
Garth Iorg1986Rick Leach1986
Garth Iorg1987Lloyd Moseby1987
John Cerutti1988Kelly Gruber1988
Kelly Gruber1989Todd Stottlemyre1989
Tommy Craig & Jeff Ross1990Pat Borders1990
Joe Carter1991Devon White1991
John Brioux1992Pat Borders1992
Bob Bailor1993John Olerud1993
Rich Hacker1994Randy Knorr1994
Larry Hisle & Galen Cisco1995Ed Sprague1995
Howard Starkman1996Juan Guzman1996
Brent Andrews1997Paul Quantrill1997
Dan Plesac1998Shawn Green1998
Pat Hentgen1999Homer Bush1999
Andy Stewart2000Brad Fullmer2000
Gord Ash2001Roy Halladay2001
Darrin Fletcher2002Chris Woodward2002
Vernon Wells2003Orlando Hudson2003
John Cerutti2004Gregg Zaun2004
Shirley Cheek2005Josh Towers2005
Larry Millson2006Alex Rios2006
John McDonald2007Dustin McGowan2007
Paul Godfrey2008Adam Lind2008
Aaron Hill2009Adam Lind2009

Jordan Bastian is a reporter for This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.