The problem was that as Encarnacion was attempting to return to the bag, Teixeira was taking several steps back to make the catch. The two players slightly bumped into each other, but Teixeira was still able to camp under the ball and make the grab.
When the contact was spotted, first-base umpire Chris Conroy called runner interference on the play. Encarnacion was ruled out and Navarro was initially called out as well in what appeared to be the makings of a very bizarre double play.
Blue Jays manager John Gibbons immediately came out to argue the call and the umpires converged for several minutes to make sense of what just happened. In the end, Encarnacion was ruled out for runner interference and Navarro was awarded first base, even though he had just popped out.
According to Conroy, Encarnacion was out because "unintentional, but interference nonetheless, therefore he's the one declared out." Crew chief Jerry Meals further explained things to a pool reporter by saying Navarro got the base because "on a fair batted ball, he goes to first base. The ball is dead."
The situation was initially confusing, but Gibbons was satisfied by the answer. The play ultimately did not have an impact on the game as Toronto's Juan Francisco and Erik Kratz proceeded to strike out to end the scoreless inning.
"I didn't understand, you can't call two outs on that play," Gibbons said follwing his club's 6-4 loss to New York. "At least they got together and got it right."
Gregor Chisholm is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, North of the Border, and follow him on Twitter @gregorMLB. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.